RSS Feed

“VIRTUE OF FOOLISHNESS”- NAYANA NAIR

Posted on

images (5)

 

Feeling the cold metal at her neck

In the cramped up space where she sat,

She looked out of the window, with her mind

Far way from what reached her eyes.

 

Reflecting, how foolish she had always been,

Foolish for believing people without any doubt,

To hold onto them even if they hurt her,

To accept people for who they are but never accept herself.

 

To have let go of her esteem for them,

To have thought that they’d value her, a fraction of how much she did.

 

And she thought of everything

She had done that led her to this day,

Where people saw her as someone not worth respecting,

For each time she would let go of her pride.

Not worth the effort, for she won’t demand it,

Not worth the love, cause she didn’t deserve it.

 

But as she cried at all the hurt,

The shame, the loss and herself.

With her hand held open

Waiting for a hand to hold it.

She turned her back to the past

That haunted her, that hurt her

To look at him, beside her.

 

And she remembered how she’d

Been more of a fool for him than anyone.

How she was foolish to make

Someone centre of her life,

To love someone more than herself.

For a girl who couldn’t bear

The scars of betrayed little affections,

How could she hope to survive

The love that’d shatter her.

 

For she knew

She was nothing and could mean nothing to anyone.

So how could she mean something to him?

She knew

That if everyone saw her as a liar

How could she expect him to believe her?

She knew

That she’d lost herself the moment she chose love above respect

How could she expect him to embrace her and take pride in her?

For she knew

What she was

She was just a fool.

 

But in spite of knowing this

She accepted the love she’d found.

For a moment she found meaning to live,

And she felt glad to be there

And to have known what her life could have been,

To have felt his love,

To have known that she’ll always be loved.

Anything else didn’t matter

For being foolish was her virtue

That led her to him.

 

And when she felt the warmth of his hands in hers

And saw him smile through all his pain,

She could see that he felt he was foolish to be there,

He was her foolishness,

And she was his.

With the same insecurities in his heart,

He chose to love her as long as he can.

As long as his soul could bear this pain.

As long as his heart could love.

As long as she would love him back.

So they’ll stay together as long as their stupidity allowed.

images (17)

 

About Nayana Nair

Hi, I am Nayana Nair. I'm 23. Just a crazy girl who has tons of things to talk about....not much organized thoughts sadly. I like to talk about everything...mostly..every conversation of mine turns into a monologue.... So I decided I should start writing a blog..rather than chat.... I'm very much passionate about music, psychology and literature.... Moderate interest in science..... I always want to be a writer (and also a teacher)..But I don't think I have the skills required...this blog is just my attempt at becoming the writer I always wanted to be...Blogging for few years, I have realized I am more of a poet (although, I am not sure that I am good enough for that label)...I hope I realize more about myself through writing. Thanks for dropping by!! Hope I didn't disappoint. :)

Leave a Reply

Leaking Ink

The musings left behind by my mind...

The Pradita Chronicles

A blog on reading, writing and storytelling

Author Chris Brown

A haven and sanctuary for the words that drip from my mind like a faulty tap, to find refuge on blank pages akin to squatters within empty houses.

mylocalweb

my writing junkyard

aYoKa

Things I should be telling myself

Poojannnblogs

I'm a little human.. from a different land.😜

Oil Pastels by Mary

Painting with oil pastels

Yoga Mom

Yoga Happens Every Day--Pee Pants and All

The Bangtan Theory

(Probably) The most accurate theories & explanations for BTS HYYH & Wings

Dain Broadbent

writes shit and immediately erases 95% of it

Invincible Summer Diaries

Lone Wolf & the Invincible Summer Diaries. Lone Wolf is a socially awkward queer artist and dweeb, Invincible Summer Diaries is her unfiltered life and search for belonging.

The Scribe Ark

Poems... with a side of fiction

MyRealPlace

Poetry and Words

NOMZI KUMALO

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR

VerseInEmotion

Life is short..... but it's long enough to make you forget.....that it doesn't last for ever!

Words from a Little Person

Poets bleed from the heart and soul

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

My valiant soul

ocean of fearlessness.

A Mind

Jack Bennett

