RSS Feed

The Real Neat Blog Awards

Thank you The Shimmer Within Her for nominating me for this award.

(https://theshimmerwithinher.com/2016/10/27/the-real-neat-blog-award/)

real

I am glad and honored that you considered me worthy for this award. (When I get an award, what never fails to amazes me is someone actually remembers about my blog, thank you 🙂 )

ii

The Rules:

  • Thank and link the blogger who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions asked.
  • Nominate 7 more bloggers for the award (it’s nice to advise them independently)
  • Create seven questions for your Nominees.

ii

Answers of questions asked:

Name one person who has helped you become the person you are today.

I think that would be my sister (Nikitha). She has been a source of joy in my life and my constant support. She is 3 years younger than me and could write better than me (if she puts her mind to it, which she won’t). I have posted some of her writing on my blog under the category “Fragmented Thoughts” I admire how she always wants to learn something new. She keeps me sane and I am ever grateful to her for that. 🙂

How did you decide on the name of your blog?

I actually had some other name in my mind (which was already taken). This name is from first line from a tamil song “Nenjukkul Peidhidum”, a beautiful song from movie “Varnam Aaayiram”

How would you describe your style?

I am going to assume this is in relation to my writing.(I have no style otherwise). I can never write on my will. Most of the time, I am just staring at blank page. I think poem just happen. I love poems that rhyme, but I rarely use rhyme in my poem . Mostly due to the fact that when I try to put rhyme, it doesn’t seem honest to me. I will be introducing lines that disturb or somehow don’t belong to that poem, in order to rhyme. I am never sure whether what I write classifies as poem. I think my style is just honest writing , waiting for a poem to come to me.

What is your favourite dessert?

That would be ice-cream and gulab jamun.

How do you like to relax?

Reading novels, listening to songs and sleeping

Describe yourself in 3 words.

Stubborn, Bookworm and Curious

Who was the last person you said ‘Thank you’ to and why?

That would be my mentor at work. For plugging my laptop charger (the socket was near to her and I was not able to reach it)

ii

My questions:

  1. Who is your best friend and what do you love about him/her ?
  2. Most scared you have ever been?
  3. One thing you could change about yourself?
  4. Your most precious belonging?
  5. One childhood memory?
  6. What irritates you?
  7. What do you love most about WordPress?
  8. Are you the person, you always wanted to be?
  9. Worst nightmare ever?
  10. Friendship or Love? Which is more important to you?
  11. Your best quality?

ii

My nominees are:

JB McPayne

extremesofunknownshadows

O Shaggy Re

Peace, Love and Patchouli

Leonard Durso

How Useful It Is

Noora

 

Thank you The Shimmer Within Her once again for nominating me. 🙂

ii

Edited info on 4 May 2017

yuhublogger has nominated me for this wonderful award. I am thankful that you thought of my blog and considered it worthy of attention. Thanks a lot.

Here is a link for the related post. (A good place to start to know more about yuhublogger and the wonderful blog )

https://yuhublogger.wordpress.com/2017/05/02/awards-and-tags/

As I have once got this award, I’d directly proceed to answer the tough and interesting questions asked 🙂

1) Why did you start blogging?
I have no idea why I started blogging. I think I was just curious as to what blogging is.Just wanted to try it out once. 🙂

2) What is the one change you see in yourself after you started your blog?
I think I have become more consistent in writing first. Earlier, I didn’t write much. I used to write 2-3 poems in an year. Then compared to earlier, most posts are my own writings.

3) When do you write the best? I mean, is it when you are sad and moody or cheerful and happy?

I write best when I am sad. I am incapable of writing when I am too happy. But I am mostly sad, not because I have something to be sad about. That is just my natural state. I think I was born sad. It’s something that I cannot do anything about. I don’t know  whether it is good thing or not. But since I can write more, maybe it’s a good thing only.

4) Are your stories/poems happy ones or sad ones, predominantly? Do you think it tells something about the emotions you are going through?

My poems are mostly very sad. Sometimes they are so depressing that I feel like   throwing them away. I don’t want my poems to be sad. But what to do. That’s all I can write.
Once in a blue moon, I do write about something happy or hopeful or something neutral. But most of it is just sad. What I write about is not necessarily about my emotions. Sometimes it can be sadness of someone I know, of some fictional character in my mind or even of some character from a movie/ novel. I think I am sadness magnet. I am attracted to everything sad. My heart can relate to all kinds of sadness. My answers are so depressing 😦 😦 😦
Ideally what I want to write about are struggles of humans, their feeling, about beauty of love and faith and how fortunate we to be here and have people who love us and whom we love. And how beautiful all of this is. But I am incapable of doing that right now. Maybe one day I will write about this.

5) What is the best comment you’ve received on your blog so far?
Though I have received such sweet comments over these years. This community has been very kind to me and motivated me a lot to write. But as of now, recent comments that I can recall are these two, that are too good to be true. Sometimes I can’t accept  myself that such praise was said about my writing 🙂 But thanks a lot for everyone  who has helped me to write better and who have given me that little confidence for  one more day at least.

 

george agak     (for poem : Dreaming of Love

I’m envious, believe me. you have a way to weave words in vivid images that make your poems living things.

 I read this as Natalie’s re-blog yesterday when I was in a hurry. Maybe it got into my subconscious, because, today, I cried twice, after not having cried in a couple weeks at least. Tonight, I came upon this post again, read it more carefully, and was so comforted by the reminder and affirmation that I’m not losing my mind or being weak. Just processing grief.

 

Thank you yuhublogger for nominating me for this award. I am glad my blog crossed your mind. 🙂 Thanks a lot dear.

ii

About Nayana Nair

Hi, I am Nayana Nair. I'm 23. Just a crazy girl who has tons of things to talk about....not much organized thoughts sadly. I like to talk about everything...mostly..every conversation of mine turns into a monologue.... So I decided I should start writing a blog..rather than chat.... I'm very much passionate about music, psychology and literature.... Moderate interest in science..... I always want to be a writer (and also a teacher)..But I don't think I have the skills required...this blog is just my attempt at becoming the writer I always wanted to be...Blogging for few years, I have realized I am more of a poet (although, I am not sure that I am good enough for that label)...I hope I realize more about myself through writing. Thanks for dropping by!! Hope I didn't disappoint. :)

17 responses »

  1. That’s awesome to have a sister who inspires you. That’s nice of you to publish her writing on your blog 😊 The 3 words you describe yourself I can see myself in it haha Great answers!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! I really like your answers.

    Reply
  3. TheOriginalPhoenix

    I love gulab jamun too! Congratualtioms on the nomination!

    Reply
  4. congratulation 🙂

    Reply
  5. Love your answers – especially the 3 words to describe yourself. They’re awesome 💛

    Reply
  6. Congratulations Nayana 🙂 🙂 and thank you for nominating me for this award yaar 🙂 🙂 I must say questions are difficult 😦 😦 hehe 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  7. Pingback: REAL NEAT BLOG AWARD – extremesofunknownshadows

  8. Pingback: The Goodreads Book Tag – How Useful It Is

  9. I’m so glad that you’ve done justice to my questions. You popped up in my head when I framed the third question. “I write best when I am sad.”- I expected this answer. I’m sure you’ll write positive poems, in time, if that’s what you want. I love your answers. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Leaking Ink

The musings left behind by my mind...

The Pradita Chronicles

A blog on reading, writing and storytelling

Author Chris Brown

A haven and sanctuary for the words that drip from my mind like a faulty tap, to find refuge on blank pages akin to squatters within empty houses.

mylocalweb

my writing junkyard

aYoKa

Things I should be telling myself

Poojannnblogs

I'm a little human.. from a different land.😜

Oil Pastels by Mary

Painting with oil pastels

Yoga Mom

Yoga Happens Every Day--Pee Pants and All

The Bangtan Theory

(Probably) The most accurate theories & explanations for BTS HYYH & Wings

Dain Broadbent

writes shit and immediately erases 95% of it

Invincible Summer Diaries

Lone Wolf & the Invincible Summer Diaries. Lone Wolf is a socially awkward queer artist and dweeb, Invincible Summer Diaries is her unfiltered life and search for belonging.

The Scribe Ark

Poems... with a side of fiction

MyRealPlace

Poetry and Words

NOMZI KUMALO

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR

VerseInEmotion

Life is short..... but it's long enough to make you forget.....that it doesn't last for ever!

Words from a Little Person

Poets bleed from the heart and soul

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

My valiant soul

ocean of fearlessness.

A Mind

Jack Bennett

