RSS Feed

“Crossing the River” – Nayana Nair

6af8253683a8d1a4fb0c2d4be92972a0

I was on my way to a place
that only exists in my mind.
And with each footprint I left behind
it became more real.
And though I know I hated each second
of wandering without a map.
But I know I loved it too.
But sitting by this river.
Listening to water
eroding the underlying stones
one particle at time.
I think of how wonderful it would be
if I could just stop
and live here.

blueflower
I spend days by the river.
I don’t know
how many more I will spend.
And slowly I feel that
there is more to life than wandering.
But I also know
that one day I will regret staying.
Not knowing where I could have been
if I had only crossed that river.
Shall I stay or keep moving?
I don’t know.
I don’t want to decide now.
Let me stay a few more days in the peace that I never found.
In the peace that I always wanted.

About Nayana Nair

Hi, I am Nayana Nair. I'm 23. Just a crazy girl who has tons of things to talk about....not much organized thoughts sadly. I like to talk about everything...mostly..every conversation of mine turns into a monologue.... So I decided I should start writing a blog..rather than chat.... I'm very much passionate about music, psychology and literature.... Moderate interest in science..... I always want to be a writer (and also a teacher)..But I don't think I have the skills required...this blog is just my attempt at becoming the writer I always wanted to be...Blogging for few years, I have realized I am more of a poet (although, I am not sure that I am good enough for that label)...I hope I realize more about myself through writing. Thanks for dropping by!! Hope I didn't disappoint. :)

12 responses »

  1. Listening to water
    eroding the underlying stones
    one particle at time.
    πŸ‘†
    Ohh so thoughtfulπŸ˜πŸ‘Œ
    Beautiful phrases!!

    Reply
  2. This somehow reminds me of the poetry ‘The Road Not Taken’ by Robert Frost.
    This prosetry reflects so much verity.It is so strange that sometimes the peace of the moment becomes so important for our lives that we choose to refuse pondering on the consequences that wandering and liking that stillness will lead.
    Thoughts well expressed.I wish I would have written this piece.

    Reply
    • It’s true though many times we just settle for what we are and where we are rather than take risk. I am not saying I am immune to this. But what I can never figure out is whether is this called settling for something or being content. Whether there are things that we need and don’t know of, and what if fate gives you that, should we just toss it away since it is not part of our plan. I have never found an answer to this. Maybe it’s just matter of perspective or reasons for which we take those decision …why we choose to stay…out of satisfaction or fear.
      Thank you for the compliment. It means a lot to me.:-)

      Reply
      • This is the dilemma I faced few months back when I started being contented after a failure..I had consoled myself to such an extent that I eventually started deriving peace from my stagnant state of situations.However what I realized is that we should be contented with results(what things or people come in our way) because that is not in our hands but if we are not moving out of our comfort zone for hard work and then finding bliss in the results then I think it is called settling for less or rather an excuse from sweating badly.What fate gives us is not to be tossed away in my opinion because everything happens for a reason and if we are doing it then it means we are not willing to take risks or move of our easy zone.Therefore nowadays I am visualizing the advantages of things beyond this stagnant state so that I feel motivated to work hard and stop being satisfied with stillness.

      • You’re absolutely right. Most of the times it is our comfort zone that restricts us in moving ahead in life. But fortunately or unfortunately, whether we want it or not, life will change, and we also have to change with it (even if unwillingly). It’s better to take that step by our own conviction, in the direction we want, rather than surrendering to fate, to wherever it may lead us. Nevertheless, I feel everyone faces this dilemma at some point in life. And maybe that’s why this often repeated and explored theme is so so relatable universally.

      • Yes and so we are the creators of our own destiny,life changes only if we change!:-)

  3. Deeply beautiful and wonderful.

    Reply
  4. Interesting free verse

    Reply

Leave a Reply

method two madness

a blog of two friends

t r e f o l o g y

all questions answered all answers questioned

mindmatters

mental health, musings, photography, love, depression, inspiration, poetry

angieinspired

In Ordinary Language

days of stone

too much coffee, too little sleep, a love of words...

rhymeswithbug

A place for poems and pics

aspoonfulofsugar337

Live love laugh.... the Hankinson way.. Family, Education, Health, Humour, Resilience, compassion.

our silent reverie

A Journal Of Our Ruminations, Illustrations & Aesthetics.

kanzen sakura

South meets East: Poetry and Musings - words of the seasons

Writing and Works

Poetry & Prose by Carol J Forrester

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

Bran New Day Anime

My Own Personal Blog to Rant About Everything Anime

The Mind of Micheline

The Human Experience

The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

K-Pop reviews and discussion with just a hint of bias...

SierraRose

Life- Faith, Family, Health

the talking cupboard

haunted by drama addicts' souls

